Music Monday: Death Cab For Cutie

Way WAY in the back!

Howdy, all!  Now, normally I would use Music Mondays to bring you an artist that is new(er), or at least new to me, but today I’m taking a different track.  I saw Death Cab live on Saturday, and it was the balls.  So, I’m just gonna go ahead and talk about them.  ‘Cause I can.  Yay! Go me.

So, my friend Trevor and I braved the deluge we got here in Orlando on Saturday to catch their show at House of Blues.  This tour is to promote their newest album, Codes and Keys.  That album, which came out in May, is way different from anything I’ve heard from them before.  It’s very. . . happy.  I’m thinking that marriage agrees with lead singer Ben Gibbard (he’s hitched to super cutie Zooey Deschanel).  I’m still trying to gather my thoughts about it.  I like Codes for the most part, though.  Especially the lead single, “You Are A Tourist.” The video is funky and cute:

Luckily for me, I didn’t have to think to hard at the show.  They started off with a rocking 9-minute jam version of one of my favorites, “I Will Possess Your Heart” off their album Narrow Stairs.   They even played “Photobooth” off The Forbidden Love EP.  I think this might have been the first song of theirs I ever heard.  Hearing it live took me waaaay back.

That was probably the best thing about this show- remembering where I was when I heard those songs, or who I dedicated them to in my mind back then.  That and they sounded so great live.  Gifted musicians and well crafted songs are always a good time!

Death Cab for Cutie is on tour now- catch them if they’re in your town.  Click here for tour schedule.  And check out Codes and Keys.  Let me know what you think! Have a fantastic day.  Thanks so much for stopping by! xx

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

