Good Eats: Cream Pot Restaurant

I’m back in Hawaii!  Thank the Lord!  I really needed a break from the daily grind in Orlando, so I retreated home to see my family, friends, and The Boyfriend.  So far, it’s been awesome.  I’m eating at all my favorite spots, and discovering a few new places.  Yum!

The view from Niu St.

One of my favorite so far is The Cream Pot in Waikiki.  Located on the bottom floor of the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel, this charming spot has a great view of Ala Wai canal.

The exterior would make Hansel and Gretel proud with its potted plants and cute archway entrance.  There are huge sliding glass doors that lead to the interior, but The Boyfriend and I sat outside, so I have no idea what goes on in there.

Honestly, reviews on this place said it was Hit or Miss, so we were prepared for slow service and over-salted food (or awesome service, and the best pancakes ever).

Cream Pot’s menu specializes in breakfast/brunch classics with island flair and local produce.  Their presentation isn’t bad either.  I got a cup of Kona coffee that came out with a little miniature shovel for my sugar and a tiny kettle for the cream. Cuteness!

We ordered the Salmon Eggs Benedict ($14.95, I think) and pancakes with strawberries ($9.25, I think).  Omigosh!  This was some of the best breakfast food I’ve had in years.  The Eggs Benedict were served on a crispy hash brown instead of an English muffin.  They were divine.

I stole this pic from Flickr: I was too hungry to take a picture!

The pancakes were a ricotta souffle  pancake with strawberry topping.  They had to be the fluffiest pancakes ever, and we had little chunks of ricotta that made my mouth water.

World's fluffiest pancake? I'm determined to find out!

I think the best strategy for the cream pot (and pretty much everywhere) is to share.  With portion sizes the way they are at most places (Cream Pot has pretty generous sizes), you can try different things.  Plus, if you’re like me, you can satisfy your need for salty and sweet with two different dishes- without having for scarf down two big ass entrees.

Cream Pot Waikiki

444 Niu St
Honolulu, HI 96815

Take someone (you like) to the Cream Pot next time you’re in Waikiki, and let me know what you think! xx

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

One response to “Good Eats: Cream Pot Restaurant

tell me what you think

