New “Sweet Valley” Book, and What I’m Reading Now

I found out a couple of weeks ago that I needed glasses because I’m farsighted (see better from afar), which I found hilarious, because I’m always squinting to see stuff that’s far away.  I guess the fancy schmancy eye-testing machines don’t lie!

In any case, I made the appointment to get my peepers checked because I woke up with a bad migraine after a marathon reading session.  I was reading “Water for Elephants,” Sara Gruen’s meticulously researched tale of romance amid a 1920’s circus.  Long story short, I really enjoyed it.  I loved the detailed depictions of circus life, and the romantic drama.  I can’t wait to see this story come to life in theaters.

Now that I’ve finished “Water for Elephants,” and gotten my handy specs to keep me pain free, I’m getting back to my reading list with a vengeance.  I’ve added a couple of new titles, including “Pride and Prejudice.”  (That way, “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” will be more awesome)

First up from the new list is “Unfamiliar Fishes,” by Sara Vowell. It examines the annexation of Hawaii, including the overthrow of Hawaii’s queen.  Being from Hawaii I’m very familiar with this story, but Sarah Vowell’s humor and observations make it a compelling read.  I’m really digging it.

Book worm snuggled in bed.

Also, my inner 11 year-old is majorly freaking out because I just found out that a new Sweet Valley book was released last week.  If you don’t know what SV books are, you may have not ever been a tweenage girl.  That’s cool, but you missed out.

I was way into the series as a girl after getting about 90 of the books passed down to me by an aunt.  I ate up the stories of twins Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield’s hi-jinks.  I read most of them, and spent most of the 6th grade pissed that I wasn’t born a twin.

"I don't see nothin' wrong with a lil' bump and grind." -- St. Martin's Press

I even followed the twins’ journeys in college, but lost track after the third or fourth book.  This latest book, “Sweet Valley Confidential,” takes place ten years after the last books, and is way more adult.  Like way more.  The twins are now 27 and living on opposite coasts -and not speaking to each other.  There are apparently attempts to update the franchise with references to Beyoncé, Prada, and Justin Timberlake.  Maybe this is author Francine Pascal’s attempt to revamp before a movie is made (penned by Juno scribe Diablo Cody)?

In any case, while I’m super excited that “Sweet Valley Confidential” was actually published, I don’t know if I’ll read it.  I mean, I knew the books were ridiculous when I was 14.  I don’t know if I could go back there now.

While I ponder going back in time to revisit Sweet Valley, feel free to share any suggested reading.  Seriously-  I need good books to read!  Also, are you gonna see “Water for Elephants” in theaters?  Lemme know what you think!  xx

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

