On Japan

By now I’m sure everyone has seen numerous reports about the massive earthquake and tsunami that hit Japan yesterday.  In the aftermath of that quake, Hawaii and other locations in the Pacific basin were on tsunami watch.

My grandpa woke me up (at 4am!) and told me to turn on the TV and  call my parents, who still live in Hawaii.  The next couple of hours went by in a blur.  I sent texts to my parents, friends, and The Boyfriend.  I was glued to CNN.  I checked Twitter every 20 seconds for updates.

It’s still unclear as I write this just how many lives have been lost, or how long it will take to repair the damage to the affected areas.  What we do know is that it’s a perfect opportunity for people from around the globe to pull together and aid those affected by this disaster.  Just like we did for Haiti, or Indonesia, and here at home after Hurricane Katrina. Below are just some of the ways you can lend a hand:

Visit http://www.americares.org to donate.  AmeriCares is a non-profit organization that provides immediate humanitarian relief to victims of disasters all over the world.

Text “REDCROSS” to 90999 and give $10, which will be added to your phone bill.  Click here for more info.

Help the International Medical Corps send relief teams and supplies by calling 1-800-481-4462, or click here.

There are tons of places to donate and ways to lend a hand.  Remember to research and keep tabs on your donation to make sure it’s put to good use.  I like Charity Navigator, which is a website that ranks charities based on effectiveness.

Have a good day, everybody.  Keep Japan in your thoughts!  xx

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

3 responses to “On Japan

tell me what you think

