Music Monday: Carolina Chocolate Drops/ Luminescent Orchestrii

I’ve been in a pretty bluesy mood over this weekend.  I’ve gotten my hands on a couple of new blues albums that I’m really enjoying, and I’ve been hanging with The Boyfriend, who’s definitely a bluesy boy from NOLA.

One of the most interesting finds from this past week was Carolina Chocolate Drops and Luminescent Orchestrii’s self-titled EP.  It combines the Chocolate Drops’ southern blues sound and Orchestrii’s folky gypsy punk, making something brand new.

The two bands have different sounds on their own, but had admired each others’ work.  So, when they were both performing at the Folk Alliance Festival in Memphis, Tennessee, the two teams decided to take the chance to come together on a project.

Drops of Carolina chocolate!

Over the next few months, various members of each band traveled to Brooklyn and North Carolina to record the songs on the EP.  Each of the four tracks are different- some paying homage to the Romanian gypsy roots of the Orchestrii, while others- like their cover of Blu Cantrell’s “Hit ‘Em Up Style” -are more R&B.

The Orchestrii

My favorite track has to be “Short Dress Gal.”  It perfectly combines their blues, rock, and hip hop sound.  I will definitely be jamming out to it this month!

Pick up The Carolina Chocolate Drops/Luminescent Orchestrii EP on iTunes now!  Also, if you have an artist you think I should know about, let me know in the comments!  xoxo

 

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

