Happy Chinese New Year!

Photo credit: imdhuston.org

Gung Hay Fat Choy!  Today is the first day of the new lunar year, according to the Chinese calendar.  I’m a big lover of astrology and the Chinese zodiac because they are really fun and interesting- regardless of how much stock you put in them!  According to a recent poll, though, about 30% of Americans believe in astrology, so I guess a lot of you do put some stock in the stars.

If you’re unaware, today marks the start of the Year of the Rabbit, a peaceful year with a focus on family and home.  Diplomacy and security are the words to remember this year as you deal with others.  This is the year to pinch pennies and learn to live with less, because next year (The Year of the Dragon) should be somewhat chaotic.

For those born in the year of the rabbit, this should be an especially lucky year for you (Rabbit people are lucky anyway).  I know that both times it was my zodiac year, I had some of the best luck ever!

The rabbit statue is one of the 12 Chinese Zod...

A rabbit statue in Kowloon Walled City Park in Kowloon City, Hong Kong. Image via Wikipedia

One of the best things about Chinese New Year is the massive celebrating that happens.  When I was a kid back home in Hawaii, this was one of my favorite times of year.  I would stuff my face with dumplings, light firecrackers until I couldn’t hear my own thoughts, and dance along while watching the Dragon Dances in the streets.  If it was a very lucky year for me, I would get a couple of red envelopes with money in them, which I would immediately spend on candy.

Jackpot! Photo credit: hellokittyjunkie.com

I could reminisce for hours, but I won’t.  I’m going to try and find a CNY party near me and hang out by the dumplings!  Have a great day everyone, and here’s to a new year!

Do you have a CNY story?  Share it in the comments!  What are you hoping for in the year of the rabbit?  Let me know- I love to hear from you guys!  xoxo

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

One response to “Happy Chinese New Year!

tell me what you think

