Delusional?

Some people need this sign.

I’ve been hearing a lot of singers lately.  I spend a lot of time at a karaoke club, and you get all kinds there.  I’ve also been contacted on Twitter by crazies who said they wanted me to look at their YouTube ’cause their music will “TAKE OVER MY iPOD!” (Spoiler alert:  it didn’t.  It sucked)

Now, I’m not talking about people who like to sing for fun, or drunk people out for a good time.  I’m talking about crazy people who go into the studio and record terrible vocal tracks.  People who want to perform for a living, but have no idea what they’re doing.  People who get on stage and act like they’re about to “show you something.”

Really, dude?  Because I’m pretty sure you haven’t hit that high note right once.  And honey, that vein popping out of your neck while you sing doesn’t mean you’re singing better.  It means you’re about to have an aneurysm.

I’m not trying to be a hater.  I love people who have unique sounding voices and who are rough around the edges.  That’s the beauty of the human voice- no two are the same. But, um, tell me this isn’t really bad:

(OK fine, I admit.  I didn’t really put that on here to illustrate my point, it’s just so funny.  I’m still not over it, months after seeing it for the first time.)

In any case, my problem isn’t that people go out there and sing who aren’t that good.  It’s that they truly believe they’re wonderful, and they have no desire to improve.  You know, I’m my toughest critic.  And, I think, that’s OK.  We should look at ourselves with a critical eye.  It makes us better.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t like to have fun with it- the reason I perform is ’cause it’s fun!

I guess that, in this American Idol age, I wish that some folks were a bit more. . . realistic.  Am I a mean person?  Shhh don’t tell anyone.

Happy Hump Day everyone!  Go out and do something you love today!

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

2 responses to “Delusional?

tell me what you think

