Music Monday: Music to Make Out To

Your next makeout session will totes go down like this if you play these songs.

Hope you all had a fantastic Halloween!  I spent it working, riding in stunt cars, and baking.  All the scary movies on TV freaked me out, so I watched a RomCom instead, which brings us to our topic today.

Yes, we’re going there. It’s like eighth grade after school (mostly because I used the word “makeout.”)! There’s nothing better than a good ol’ makeout sesh, right? How about we up the ante with a bangin’ soundtrack?  With the weather cooling down, and lots of you about to get stuck indoors to hide from the elements (with nothing to do. . .)  I thought it was time I brought out the big guns. . .

For me, some of the key elements of a worthy MOS (make out song) are as follows:

1.  It can’t be too loud.  I’m not trying to lose focus cause the musicians decided to explore screamo in the middle of one of their songs.  Keep it on an even keel, people.

2.  It can’t be too fast.  Cause sometimes that gets frantic.  KnowwhatI’msayin’? Not cute.

3. It can’t go too far.  Cause then it turns into- ahem- music to do another kind of stuff to.

First up, it’s The XX, with “Crystalized:”

Do I have to keep up the pace to keep you satisfied? Gah!

So, you remember this, right?  It still works.  Portishead’s “Glory Box:”

After the untimely death of her husband, Corinne Bailey Rae took some time off.  With the release of “Closer” off her last album, she proved that she’s back. . . and ready for action:

More spit-swap songs after the jump!

Jamie Cullum’s remake of Rihanna’s “Umbrella” takes the song from club hit to couch jam:

Duffy knows what's up.

I think the name on this one speaks for itself.  Duffy’s “Syrup & Honey” is a bluesy, sexy number that is also a bit instructional:

Finally, this last one takes me back to the movie Romeo and Juliet (it was on the soundtrack), and my reverence for Leo.  If it came on while I was was making out I would probably revert back to myself circa 1995 and the frenzy would set in.  Sense memories of Leo and Radiohead?  A winning combination.  Here’s “Talk Show Host:”

Did I get any of your favorites on here?  What are some of your must-haves?  And, honestly, do the kids still say “making out” anymore?  Hmm. . .

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

3 responses to “Music Monday: Music to Make Out To

tell me what you think

