Music Monday: Who Are Phoenix?

I’m going to see Phoenix at the House of Blues on Tuesday, and I’m way excited.  I’ve loved them since I first heard their single, “Everything is Everything,” on the Virgin Atlantic flight I took back from London in 2004.  Yeah, it’s a love affair.

Like I said, I’m pretty stoked for this show, but when I asked if anyone wanted to go with me, most people had no idea who the eff I was talking about.  So, here’s a bit of fawning review, just in case.

Phoenix is an Indie Pop/ Rock band originally from Versailles, France.  This scored them mayjah points with me, as I was a French Minor in college and lourve all things French. They’ve released five albums, the first of which, United, had a song on the Lost In Translation film soundtrack.  Their sound is kind of like Daft Punk, but without as much Electronica.

Check out “Too Young” below:

They really blew up abroad with their second album, Alphabetical.  This was the first album I heard, and it quickly became one of my faves that year.  Seriously, it is the business.  “Everything is Everything,” which is the song from my Virgin flight is below  (Watch the awesome video here):

Apparently, these guys make some pretty badass commercial music, because I swear I feel like I hear their stuff all the time.  (A quick Wikipedia search proves it’s true!  They’ve got songs from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix in a Cadillac commercial, and in the trailers for Where the Wild Things Are, Alice in Wonderland, and Valentine’s Day.) Sound familiar?

Yeah, I will be dancing my butt off to this on Tuesday night, with my one friend in Orlando who loves them, too.  OK, so obviously, you might not know Phoenix, but you’ve heard them.  And you’ve probably liked what you heard.  So, will you be coming out with me on Tuesday?  Hmmm?

What’d you think?  Let me know in the comments.  AND, if you’ve caught the fever, Phoenix are playing at Orlando’s House of Blues this Tuesday.  See you there!

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

One response to “Music Monday: Who Are Phoenix?

tell me what you think

