Singing Out of Turn

 

"Your love is like BAAAAAD MEDICINE!"

 

Sometimes I wish life were like a musical.  Not all the time, because I wouldn’t want people breaking out into song while I’m shaving my legs or whatever, but still.  Sometimes I do wish I could sing my order at a restaurant.

And a lot of the time when someone is talking to me their words trigger songs titles in my head.  (Once, The Boyfriend was telling me a story about an ailing relative, and I accidentally started singing Run-DMC’s “You Be Illin'” under my breath.  I apologized for an hour.)

Still, I can’t imagine singing during some of life’s more. . . real moments.  Until now.  A few weeks ago I saw this video a friend posted on Facebook:

Bahahahaha!  That’s Deitra Hicks, star of several of Tyler Perry’s stage plays, and my new idol.  She really let out some Gospel riffs while defending herself at the People’s Court (or whatever that show is called)!  I mean, is that really the time to flex your vocal stylings?  Sigh.  I guess her insanity is our gain.

I’m gonna need this trend to continue.  I mean there’s already these crazy people who surprise Midwestern tourists in time square, but I want to see YouTube vids of soccer moms krumping at the DMV.  I need a little US Postal worker “Pippin,” or someone to bust into Mariah Carey at the drive-thru.

Let’s all pull together to make the dream reality.  I’ll do it, too.  Just don’t expect me to sing here, umkay?

What do you think?  Do you wish life was a musical?  Let me know in the comments, and have a great day!

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

2 responses to “Singing Out of Turn

tell me what you think

