Who Are These Kids?!

A few weeks ago, a friend posted this video on Facebook:

After watching, I just had two questions:  Why is that girl grinding like that?(and why do I LOVE it?!) And, Who are these kids? After some simple clicking on the links they provided hardcore research, I discovered that these three kids are Kris, Joelle, and Sophia.  They are students at Boston’s Berklee College of Music, which is the school I would have gone to had I not been stuck in Classical music hell.  It’s produced some stars in the music biz, like Paula Cole, Rivers Cuomo, Gavin DeGraw, Diana Krall, and John Mayer.

Banners at Berklee College of Music

Image via Wikipedia

And then I thought, Duh.  Because Berklee is all about producing Pop artists.  But, like, really fierce, excellent musician Pop (and Jazz!) artists.  So, of course these kids can sing.  Now, my intrigue has turned into an obsession.  I’ve subscribed, I’ve re-watched, and followed the links.  Here are my faves (so far):

Sophia and Kris cover “Like a Star” by Corrine Bailey Rae

Joelle sings the eff out of Christina Aguilera’s “Lift Me Up”

Do you remember her from American Idol?  Yeah, btw that Kris kid is deaf now after she screamed in his ear.

I SWEAR IT GETS BETTER AFTER THE CUT!

Here’s a girl named Loren Allred with Kris on Piano doing JESSIE J’s “Mama Knows Best”

Do you DIE?!  Btw, if you don’t know JESSIE, look at this post.  NOW.

Finally, some more talented kids join in from Berklee, Karmin doing Christina Aguilera’s “Bionic”

Sounds totally different, right?  I just got their EP in iTunes- it’s really fun.  It’s going to be on repeat while I get ready for a huge garage sale next week!

Seriously, folks, check these kids out.  They are fun, fresh, and actually talented.  I can’t wait to see more.  I think we’ll be hearing a lot from them in the near future.  Let me know what you think in the comments, and tell me about talented kids you’re obsessed with!

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

One response to “Who Are These Kids?!

tell me what you think

