I Don’t Cook All That Often.

But when I do, it’s pretty fun!  The boyfriend is a really good cook, so when we’re together I usually let him to that.  As I stare on in amazement.  While we’re separated, however, I have to fend for myself.  For a long time that meant eating out and lots and lots of sandwiches. (Hey, I had, like, six jobs for minute there.  What’s a girl to do?)

Boyfriend in the kitchen about to cook something amazing.

I found out that I have acid reflux a little while ago, which has really impacted my diet.  As of right now I can’t eat:

Dairy
Spicy Foods
Chocolate (yeah right.  I’m failing at this miserably)
Fried Foods
Alcohol

The dairy thing I’m used to- singers shouldn’t do too much dairy, and I’m lactose intolerant- but I’ve tried to totally cut it out.  No more lactose-free substitutes.  I’ve discovered a whole bunch of really yummy non-dairy ice creams.  My faves right now are Tofutti Vanilla Almond Bark and Turtle Mountain’s Purely Decadent Cookie Dough.  They are like crack.  You’ve been warned.

Now that I’ve been able to slow it down a bit and say “No,” I’ve actually had time to cook.  The past couple of nights I’ve been having lots of fun in the kitchen.  Tuesday night I made this:

Lemon butter salmon with sauteed ‘shrooms over pesto linguine

with soy butter, which was amahzing.  And last night I had a bit of this bacon peppercorn chicken from my local Publix with a bucket salad and sweet corn on the cob.  The. Chicken. Was. So. Freaking. Good.  I bought a whole one, so I’ll be eating that for a while, and loving every second of it. 

Bucket salad:  whatever is in my fridge that day, including soy cheese!

I feel so great since making the changes to my diet.  Reflux is getting better slowly, but mostly I just have way more energy.  I’ve even lost a couple pounds (soy ice cream isn’t as fattening as regular- thank GOD.  I’m tearing that stuff up!).  I can’t to share what new recipes I come up with!

What are some of your favorite meals to cook?

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

