How Much Do You Drink?


I’m currently in rehearsals for a show that takes place outside, in the Florida heat. The show is high-energy and I’m definitely sweating a lot. This has made me even more obsessive than normal about my water consumption. Am I getting enough? How do I know? I did a little research, and here’s what I’ve found:

1. Every day you lose water through your breath, perspiration, urine, etc.

2. The more you exercise, the more fluid you need. An extra 1.5-2.5 cups is ideal for short bouts of exercise.

3. Some medical conditions, like fever, require that you increase fluid intake. However, some conditions like heart failure or kidney disease may require you to limit your water intake.

So, how do you know how much to chug? According to the Institute of Medicine, men should consume about 3 liters of fluid a day, while women should have around 2.2 liters. According to the Mayo Clinic, feeling thirst rarely is also a good indicator of proper hydration.

So, there you have it! My little tidbit for the day. Keep in mind that even as it gets cooler we still need to watch our fluid intake- especially singers! Getting enough water ensures that you are thinning any mucous that builds over the vocal chords!

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

