Auditioning Will Give You a Six-Pack

When I came back to Orlando, I told myself that I would go to every possible audition. That has mostly been true, I’m happy to report. Although there were a couple of times making the effort didn’t seem worth the gas money. Still, it has been sort of a blessing in disguise to finally have some free time. I can make a bigger commitment to my craft and make auditioning a priority. Oh yeah, and sometimes get a killer workout.

Like at the audition for High School Musical 3: Right Here Right now. This show at Disney’s Hollywood Studios celebrates the movie (which I have never seen and probably never will) and has heavy dancing for singers. I went, even though it made me feel old just driving up to the building.

On the way back out, though, I felt much better about myself. I actually made it thru all the dance cuts, and got great feedback after singing. It made me feel great, especially after my last dance call where I felt like a total loser afterward. I think this has been the best lesson from all this: Sometimes the roles you’re right for aren’t always the ones you live and die for.

Oh, gross. It rhymes. But you know what I mean.

About hezaire

I am a Singer/Actor who enjoys writing about music, food, and fashion. View all posts by hezaire

tell me what you think

